Update's reporting and auditing pages will give you a high-level overview of how employees are using and engaging with the Updates tool. In this article, we will outline who has access to the Updates Reports, the information that they will have access to, and how to interact with the Reports to pull data for different groups of people.
To get started, go to the Reporting section of Lattice and navigate to the Updates from the left-hand side.
The Updates reporting page will give you a high-level overview of how employees are using and engaging with the Updates tool.
Who can see the updates reporting tab?
- Admins will have access to this under their "Admin" page under "Updates"
- Managers will have access to this on their "Your Team" page.
- Managers of Managers will see this on the "Your Team" page.
- Employees with Custom Role Permissions will see this on their "Admin" page.
What information is available?
There are three metrics that can be seen in the graph at the top of the Reports page:
- Sentiment: the Sentiment graph will show you the average sentiment per group over a period of time.
- Published: the Published graph will show you the number of Updates published per group over a period of time.
- Reviewed: the percentage reviewed graph will show you the number of Updates that were reviewed by managers for a specific group divided by the total number of Updates published by that group of people.
To navigate between these metrics and see the different graphs, click on the metrics above the graph.
When you are viewing a graph, the delta metric at the top compares the change between the previous date range interval and the current date range interval. For example, if you are viewing the last 90 days, the delta is the difference between the metric 180-90 days ago compared to the metric from the last 90 days. If you change the date range to 30 days or 365 it's the same behavior. If your graph is set on All Time, there is not a delta shown.
Below the graphs you will find a table view of the date in the graph above:
Grouping and Filtering Your Data
When viewing the graphs, you can add more groups by clicking on the “+” sign (Lattice defaults to the first 8 options):
You can also makes group visible or invisible on the graph by clicking on the grouping name:
Here’s more detail on Groupings and Time Range:
- Group by: you can adjust how your information is being grouped by clicking on the “Group by” filter. Here, you will see a list of all employee fields that are currently in Lattice, including any custom fields that you may have created. (This functionality is not available to managers.)
- Time range: this allows you to adjust over what period of time you are analyzing the data. You can choose different set timeframes or a custom range.
As your organization uses Updates, Admins can get an overview of how engaged people are from the Audit tab.
The "All Updates" tab under the "Auditing" section lists every Update that has been submitted between a manager and their direct report within the organization.
This page shows the date the Update was submitted. It also shows whether or not the Update was private (the padlock sign to the right of the date which means the Update is only visible to the employee and their manager - with the option of their manager's managers seeing it as well). It shows the name of the direct report and their manager, the sentiment score the employee logged, and gives you the ability to click into the Update to read it.
To read the Updates quickly one by one, click the "View Update" button. You can then use arrow keys (right and left) to go through all the Updates listed.
If you want to see who in the company is feeling the best (has the highest sentiment score) and who might not be feeling so well (lowest sentiment score), you can filter by clicking "Sentiment."
The Individuals tab is where you can manage whether Updates are turned on for employees, see how often they're being prompted to write their Updates, see their average sentiment score, as well as see when their last update happened.
You can quickly turn Updates on or off between a manager and their direct report by toggling on (blue) or off (grey) in the status column.
You can also search by direct report or manager, view just one manager's direct reports and the status of their Updates, or view the report by just one department.
The Update's Settings is where you can enable Updates for all employees, toggle on or off the Employee sentiment score, whether or not you want to allow your employees to post public Updates, allow managers to set their own settings for Updates, and set the questions and schedule for Updates.
If Employee Sentiment Score is turned on, alongside the usual update questions, every user will be asked to rate "How are you feeling this week?" on a scale from 1 - 5. Employees can also add context to their rating by clicking the "Share more" button!
Turning on public updates gives users the ability to choose whether their update will be seen by just their manager or seen publicly by the whole company.
Note: Generally smaller companies use public updates to give status reports while larger companies use private updates to keep details between managers and employees
Default Updates Questions and Cadence
Admins can also configure at the company level what questions are asked in the Update, how often they should be asked, and what time the notification is sent out.
If you want everyone in the company to use these default settings, toggle off the "Allow Manager Override" switch. Leaving the switch on allows managers to set their own questions and cadences for their team. For more information on how that works, check out the help center article here.
Once a manager has set customized questions for their direct reports, changing the company default questions will not affect the questions that those direct reports are asked.
Helpful Tips: If an employee's manager changes, the new manager will not have access to the private updates that occurred between their new direct report and the direct report's old manager.